Rookie Year: Day 179

Things are really starting to wind down. My last class completed their final assignment today. I will see them again tomorrow but there won’t be any graded work and donuts.

I found out my course load for the fall already. I will be teaching Foundations of Algebra again, as well as some CP Geometry sections. I am excited to teach something that I have never taught before, but I am also nervous. I was hoping to teach all Algebra again for my second year so that I could refine lesson plans rather than come up with new ones. Well, at least it won’t be boring. Plenty to blog about in the fall.

I cleared out my room and got it ready for the summer. It didn’t take me that long to do, which tells me that I need to use more decorations next year. Seriously, it took me all of 10 minutes to put up everything and clear off my desk.

I remember thinking at the beginning of the year, around the 1st or 2nd week, how far away tomorrow felt. Day 180. I was so tired that first semester and I kept thinking about how miserable I was at the end of my student teaching, and I was afraid that this rookie year would be that again. It wasn’t.

It was difficult and I am glad to be almost done, but it wasn’t as bad as it was when I student taught. I’m not dreading the fall. In fact, I’m looking forward to it! Don’t get me wrong, I am not wishing away the summer. I fully intend to enjoy it to the full. But I am also excited to give this job another go.

Thanks for reading.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Rookie Year: Day 179

  1. River Driver says:

    Congrats! You made it! I’ve pretty much taught Geometry since I started. I love it. Happy to share what little I have though! Enjoy your summer.

  2. Jessica says:

    Thanks for the blog. This was my first year too. I spent hours on the weekends reading this (totally not procrastinating lesson planning). You helped remind me that it’s ok to not have everything go perfect. Enjoy your summer, and I hope to read more in the fall!

Leave a Reply

