Rookie Year: Day 147

We just did a lot of in-class practice on applications of exponential functions today. It is concerning to me how easy it can be to slip into helping students find the right answer to a problem and not always worrying how much they understand, as long as they know how to find the right answer. Especially if they are struggling and I am feeling discouraged. So I really had to fight my own impulse to say “good enough” when helping some of the struggling students today and ask them questions to find out if they really understood or were just parroting a process from the notes.

It would have also helped if I had taught this unit in a different way. I should have had them build up to the equations for exponential growth and decay so that they understood where they came from rather than just giving them in notes as examples. I will try it differently next time.

Thanks for reading.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

