Rookie Year: Day 128

I woke up in a sour mood today. This was the first night this week that I got a full 8 hours of sleep, but when I got up I was feeling depressed and really did not feel like going in to work.

My first and second blocks did not really help that feeling. They were wilder than usual and did not want to work. My plan today didn’t have very many parts.

Since Tuesday was the last day of the 3rd quarter and marked halfway through this semester, I thought I would do a quick refresh of the syllabus and classroom expectations. This did not  have the effect that I wanted in my first block but it did have a measurable effect in the other two. I also need to make sure that I am following through on my rules. The constant reminders and disciplinary actions really wear me down. It takes a lot out of you to teach a room full of teenagers who don’t always have the self-motivation necessary to stay on task. Well, it’s not the whole room. It may not even be half the room. But sometimes when even just one student can’t just sit down and attempt the problems it gets tiresome. After the Syllabus refresh I did short notes-20ish minutes-on difference of squares and perfect square trinomials, and then sent the students to IXL to practice factoring. My morning classes really struggled with staying on task. I need to move some students around in first block for sure.

So I was feeling really wiped by lunch. I think I was silent for most of it as I sat in the teacher’s lounge eating with some of my friends.

But my last block was a nice pick me up. They got Perfect Square Trinomials and Difference of Squares faster than my first two classes. (I also finally figured out how I wanted to teach those. My poor first block are always my guinea pigs and I don’t always have the bugs worked out by second block.) And they also worked on their IXL practice more diligently than the first two blocks. I’m feeling better now but it was still a rough day and I’m ready to go home.

Thanks for reading.

Standard

Leave a Reply

