Rookie Year: Day 108

We took a unit test today.

It did not go as well as I would have liked (which is typical of my experiences so far) but actually it also did not go as well as I expected given the answers that I got from my students during the review game yesterday. I thought that they understood it better than the test is saying they are.

I spoke with several coworkers this week about how much time I am investing here at school and how often I take work home. I am really going to try to keep school and home separate. I don’t mind coming in early like I have been doing–that actually relaxes me for the day because I feel more prepared mentally. But I am going to try really hard to leave at 4 when my contract hours are up and not take anything with me. What I get done I get done. Instead of grading Friday quizzes over the weekend and returning to students on Monday, I am going to grade them at work and return them a little later. (I am aiming for Wednesday each week.)

I am worried that I will simply not be prepared to do my job with this plan but I need to find a healthy balance and I’m convinced after my trip to the ER last week that my current balance is not.

It does help that I planned the next three weeks of class while my students took their exam today. I will see how long I can keep that up.

Thanks for reading.

Standard

One thought on “Rookie Year: Day 108

Leave a Reply

