Rookie Year: Day 66

I’m a little frustrated because of how up and down the behavior of my classes are each day. Yesterday went smoothly and today was a wreck. I am sure part of it depends on my lesson design, but there has to be some other factor that makes it fluctuate so wildly. Today I tried a rotation of sorts, I taught new material to small groups of 5-6 while the other groups tried either old or new material depending on if they had worked with me yet. This worked to various degrees of well. I feel like I’m complaining every day  on this blog but man I am ready for Christmas break.

EDIT: This was my 100th post. Yay me.

 

Standard

One thought on “Rookie Year: Day 66

  1. Brian says:

    I really like the idea of rotations. Until I entered the Elementary School world I never really understood the concept. It takes a lot to “train” the kids to work in such a system, but once they have it down the learning can be greatly enriched. It also provides an opportunity for you to build some “voice and choice” into your classroom. Talk with an elementary teacher about how they set up centers and I think you will find some useful information that could be incorporated into your classes.

    I’m not sure if it has to do with gravitational pull or some other phenomenon, but there is definitely something that can make kids flip a switch. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

Leave a Reply

