Rookie Year: Day 57

I’ve been feeling a little repetitive with my posts lately. I think I may have settled into a bit of a rut instructionally speaking. My 1st and 3rd blocks are about the same and my 2nd block where I have been struggling is marginally better. We are in the beginning of a brand new unit on what is arguably one of the starts of Algebra I: linear functions. I’m struggling with picking tasks for my students that really help them make connections.

Today we played a Kahoot to practice identifying linear and non-linear equations and graphs. I had mixed responses to the Kahoot. I try not to play it too often so that my students don’t get tired of it and I haven’t played it in a while, but I know that other teachers use it too. One class was excited, the other class groaned, and the third was ambivalent. The ambivalent class did the best however, sometimes asking me to stop and explain an answer. The Kahoot was too long. I searched the website and used one that another teacher had made. It had 32 questions and all of my students start to check out after around 20 or so. I’ll have to trim them for next time.

Next I had them come up with their own examples of linear and non-linear equations and tables. They wrote down their answer and then I had them share. I used traditional paper for this on little half-sheets. The half-sheets are nearly as nice for keeping kids accountable and taking a quick pulse of the room as Go Formative is, but I could tell that they were tired of that as well. This went the best in my final block, but all three were decent. I can tell that my students are just tired of learning math. No one is very enthusiastic or eager to share. They need the upcoming Thanksgiving break and so do I.

After the sort of think-pair-share minus the pair, I did use Go Formative to have them practice converting linear equations to standard form.

Finally I tried what I talked about in my post yesterday by trying to scaffold the activity of finding solutions to linear equations and then making the connection that the graph of a linear equation is the graph of the solutions. This final activity was not planned well enough (again) on my part. Argh. Two days in a row. I’ll get it.

Thanks for reading.

Standard

Leave a Reply

