Rookie Year: Day 50

Wow, 50 days of teaching.

I already feel like a different teacher from that first week and I’m guessing in another 50 I won’t even recognize myself.

I gave an extended practice assignment to all of my blocks today. Most of them did well, but I could tell some felt overwhelmed by the amount they had to do. There were several reasons I had them just practicing problems all day but one was that I wanted to gauge how they were doing on the chapter we just finished up without the format or stigma of a quiz.

I like giving time to students in class to try things that we have already learned so that when they get stuck I can be there to help them. Of course I do this with brand new things as well, but on material that they have known a while it’s encouraging to me (and I think to them) to see how much they know how to do.

I do think I need to break up the format a little more when I try this next time, possible with stations or something, I’m not sure.

That’s all I’m going to write for now. I’m feeling sleepy even though I didn’t stay up for the end of the World Series last night and I still have to go to the gym today before I can relax at home.

Thanks for reading.

Standard

Leave a Reply

