Rookie Year: Day 6

I’m pretty discouraged today. The warm up today was a few questions on matrix operations that were exactly the same as the exercises we tried yesterday and the exercises that the students had for homework. Everyone seemed lost. I couldn’t tell if it was because they didn’t know how to do the problems or they just didn’t want to start the warm up. I can’t get them to try it without asking me. I need to come up with another approach. I am purposefully asking questions that should be review from the previous day so the entry level should be very low or at least low enough that a neighbor could get them started.

They get Chromebooks by the end of the week. I may start having the bellringer be a quick google form quiz that expires 5 minutes after the class starts. I’ll have them write their work in the notebook like before but they’ll submit their answers electronically. I am hoping this motivates them to work some more. I was trying to get them to work the first 5 minutes without asking me for help but they are really resisting that. I may have to just refuse to help during that first part but I don’t want them to give up either. Using attendance as an excuse worked the first day I tried it but now I think they may just be waiting until I am done to ask me then.

I don’t know. I don’t have an answer for this. I’m pretty tired today. According to the pacing guide (and the pace of the other teachers) I should be giving a unit one test tomorrow or Friday. I have it scheduled for Friday. This feels really soon but also all of the material we have covered so far is technically supposed to be review from pre-algebra. It hasn’t felt like review for them, but that’s where we are supposed to be. There’s plenty more to do and we start into the textbook after this unit. My mind feels really scattered.

Standard

One thought on “Rookie Year: Day 6

  1. Darrin says:

    I know it can be frustrating to find what works. Hang in there. It will become easier and second nature before you know it

Leave a Reply

