“Can You Just Let Us Do It?” Or When I Forget Myself

I tweeted about this the other day but I wanted to expand on it further.

Last Monday my Business Calculus class took a midterm, so the week before I held a review session. My lesson plan was just to work through as many problems as we could and remind them of all of the things they had forgotten/never tried/didn’t understand. I had already discussed the solutions to a few u-substitution problems, had already written the statement of a third, and was about to work the solution when a student interrupted me.

“Uh, Taylor? Can you just let us do it?”

What I tweeted was my actual reaction.

“Oh. Yes. Of course. That’s what I want. I would much rather you do it. That’s the whole point.”

The strange thing is that on previous occasions I have done this–letting them do the work–for both lessons and review days. I write some problems on the board and let the students work on them in groups as I come around to “help”. (This helping is usually me answering their questions with more questions. Not all of them enjoy that, but I find it amusing and better for them.)

But for some reason I was just running on lecturer autopilot that day and was explaining everything. I think even though I tell myself and repeat to others that the best way to learn math is to do math, I forget myself and let my ego take over. I was worried about how they were going to do on the exam the next week and I was afraid that they weren’t going to study so I subconsciously thought, “I better just do it for them.” And so there I was, doing the problems for them on the board. Luckily, they remembered better than I did what was going to help them learn the most.

It’s easy to subscribe to the “Teachers should be the guide-on-the-side instead of the sage-on-the-stage” philosophy and I do subscribe to it–even though that line is so cheesy. But it’s also easy to default to doing it all yourself.

It’s nice to be reminded by your own students.

Standard

Leave a Reply

