To quote the Beastie Boys,

Check-ch-check-check-check-ch-check it out. What-wha-what-what-what’s it all about? Chech-ch-

…okay, enough of that.

I have considered writing a blog about my experiences in math education for a while now. I was reluctant to begin blogging because I was not sure if I could keep a mostly professional tone without sacrificing my joking personality. (Evidenced by the joke in my very first post as a blogger.) I was also afraid that I would not be able to properly express in written words what goes through my mind: a frequent problem for me. And really, as much as I make hipster jokes, some small rebellious part of me didn’t want to cave to pressure and join the mainstream that is the blogosphere. However, my own development as a educator–my educational philosophy, my beliefs about what sound pedagogy is, my goals as an educator, and my view of mathematics itself has been greatly influenced by the blogs of other teachers.

Next week I will complete my practicum field experience and in June of 2012 I will graduate with my two degrees from the University of Cincinnati: a B.S. in Secondary Education and a B.A. in Mathematics. This coming August I will start my student teaching internship, teaching Algebra I to 8th and 9th graders. By December–Lord willing and dependent on me receiving a passing grade on the Praxis exam–I will receive a Resident Educator’s License from the state of Ohio. If I was going to blog, this seemed to be a good point in my career to begin it.

My goal for this blog is to provide a place where I can organize and express my thoughts about my experiences being a math teacher. For now this is going to be a pretty informal affair. It may–to use a math term–become more rigorous with time. One thing you can always count on is that I will be making frequent references to Jesus and probably also coffee.

I’ll also shamelessly promote my friend Phil Didion’s Blog from time to time. Like now. Seriously, he’s cool.

Standard

4 thoughts on “To quote the Beastie Boys,

  1. Pingback: [NBI] Week One of the Math Blogging Initiation « Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

